Town of Esopus Town Board

The Town of Esopus’ Elective Legislative Body

Our Mission

In New York State, towns have been organized with an elective legislative body known as the Town Board. This panel usually consists of the Supervisor and four Councilpersons who, as a group, represent the executive head of the town. Such is the case in the Town of Esopus. There is no single executive in town government comparable to a mayor of a city or village. The Town Board serves as the executive, administrative and legislative body of the town. Clearly then, the actions of the Town Board have a profound effect on the residents and businesses within the town. An individual board member may not unilaterally act on behalf of the Town Board. The Board acts as a unit and must function as a body.

Town Councilpersons, under state statute, serve a term of four years. Election of members of the Town Board is normally staggered, so that the entire Board will not come up for election in the same year.

The Town Supervisor is the chief financial officer and is responsible for managing the fiscal matters of the town and making related recommendations to the Town Board. The Supervisor prepares a tentative budget for the Town Board's approval, and ensures that every Town department is prudent in their spending and stays within their allotted budget. The Supervisor must keep an accurate and complete account of town funds, and prepare monthly reports for the Town Board as well as an anual report of all moneys handled by the Supervisor's office. The Supervisor is also the administrator of Town government and, as such, presides over Town Board meetings. The Supervisor is elected to a two year term.

Town Board Meetings are held on the fourth Wednesday of each month at 7:30 PM at Town Hall.

An Annual Organization Meeting is held during the first week of each new year at Town Hall.

Town Board Workshop Meetings are held on the Tuesday prior to the third Thursday of each month at the Town Hall at 7:30 PM. Additional Workshop Meetings are held on the first Monday of the month when deemed necessary, except for Monday Holidays when the meeting will be on the next Tuesday.

Town Board Meeting Minutes
Town Board Minutes
Town Board Minutes Archives
Town Board Archives
Workshop Meeting Minutes
Workshop Minutes
Workshop Minutes Archive
Workshop Archives

Contact Us

Shannon HarrisShannon Harris

Chris Farrell

Jared GeussJared Geuss

Kathie QuickKathie Quick

Gloria VanVlietGloria VanVliet